Allow to Exceed Licensed Recording Users with Automatic Synchronization

Allow to Exceed Licensed Number of Recording Users

Tenant administrators can now enable the Allow To Exceed Included Recording Users flag when generating or editing Interaction Insights and Dedicated Interaction Insights tenants. If enabled, users can be added to Microsoft Entra ID recording groups, even if the number of licensed Microsoft Teams and/or Instant Messaging users has been reached for the tenant.

This feature is disabled by default. When disabled, it is not possible to add users to Interaction Insights once the number of included users has been reached.

 

Interaction Insights Auto-synchronization with Entra ID

If Allow To Exceed Included Recording Users is enabled, a new Auto Sync with Entra ID toggle appears on the Licenses page in the Interaction Insights UI.

If Auto Sync with Entra ID is turned on (default), Interaction Insights automatically synchronizes users and group memberships from the customer's Entra ID tenant:

■ Users added to a mapped group are automatically provisioned and inherit its recording, security, and retention profiles.
■ Users removed are automatically deprovisioned. Recording stops, while existing recordings are retained according to policy.
■ Modifications to existing users are also automatically synchronized.

These updates are reflected on the View Users page and reported in the System Activity Log for each affected user.

If Auto Sync with Entra ID is turned off, or if this option is not available because Allow To Exceed Included Recording Users is disabled, the Interaction Insights administrator must manually trigger synchronization.

If you are already exceeding your licensed user limit and Auto Sync with Entra ID is turned off, existing users remain provisioned, but you cannot add new users until the licensing conflict is resolved or Auto Sync with Entra ID is turned back on.

 

Manual Synchronization

Manual synchronization is supported as before this release, with or without Allow To Exceed Included Recording Users. If Allow To Exceed Included Recording Users is disabled, users exceeding the licensed limit are not added to Interaction Insights.