Regenerate the Secret of an Application

A client secret is generated and displayed only at the time an application is created. After creation, the secret value cannot be retrieved again for security reasons. If the secret is lost, it cannot be recovered, and a new client secret must be generated.

Secrets are automatically assigned a 1-year expiration date. If 6 months or fewer remain until this date:

An email notification is sent to the Interaction Insights administrators. A weekly reminder is sent until the generation of a new secret.
An alarm is raised in OVOC and cleared when the secret has been regenerated.

The system does not deactivate secrets when the expiration date is reached.

Regenerate the client secret in the following scenarios:

Expiration date reached or passed
Lost secret
To regenerate an application's secret:
1. Open the API Configuration page: In the Icon pane, click , and then in the Navigation pane, select Integration> API Configuration.
2. In the API Configuration table, click the dots adjacent to the application that you wish to modify, then click Regenerate Secret The current secret's creation date and age are displayed.
3. Click Regenerate Secret. The current secret is immediately deactivated and replaced with the new secret.
If you regenerate the secret, the application’s authentication requests will fail until they are updated with the new secret.
You cannot regenerate a secret for a disabled application.